Thursday, May 12, 2011

Team Democrats Defend "Top Guns" Title at Congressional Shoot-Out

Washington, DC - The Democratic team of marksmen outdueled their Republican counterparts yesterday at the Congressional Shoot-Out held at the Prince George's County Trap and Skeet Center in Glenn Dale, Maryland.

A near record turnout of Congressional Sportsmen's Caucus (CSC) members, both Democrats and Republicans, put partisan bickering aside to enjoy a friendly competition shooting rounds of trap, skeet and sporting clays.

The annual Congressional Shoot is organized by the Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation (CSF) and presented by Alpha Natural Resources, ATK, the National Rifle Association (NRA), and The Outdoor Channel.

"The CSC does a tremendous job of protecting and advancing our interests and traditions and we thank them for providing a record turn-out of members for this event," said CSF President Jeff Crane. "In addition to the members of Congress who showed their support for sportsmen, the outdoor industry and conservation leaders who care about hunting, fishing, shooting sports and the outdoors also helped make this the most successful shoot-out to date."

CSC Co-Chair and team captain Rep. Mike Ross of Arkansas accepted the trophy on behalf of team Democrat, made up of members of the CSC including: Sen. Joe Manchin, CSC Vice-Chair Rep. Heath Shuler, Rep. Collin Peterson, Rep. Bennie Thompson, former CSC Co-Chair Rep. Mike Thompson, Rep. Tim Walz.

The Republican team, lead by CSC Co-Chair, Rep. Jeff Miller of Florida, included: CSC Senate Vice-Chair Sen. Jim Risch, CSC House Vice-Chair Rep. Bob Latta, former CSC Co-Chairs Rep Paul Ryan and Rep. Don Young, Rep. Paul Broun, Rep. Jeff Duncan, Rep. Renee Ellmers, Rep. Steve King, Rep. John Kline, Rep. Billy Long, Rep. Tom Marino, Rep. Steve Pearce, Rep. Austin Scott, Rep. Steve Southerland, Rep. Tim Walberg, Rep. Rob Wittman.

"I was proud to serve as team captain of the Democratic team in this year's shoot as the Democrats took home the trophy for the third year in a row," said Ross. "In all seriousness, this annual event is an important opportunity for Members of Congress from both parties to come together and renew their focus on championing the rights of hunters and anglers and supporting wildlife management and conservation efforts in the U.S. Congress. Our bipartisan comradery ensures that sportsmen and women will always have a unified, proactive voice in their government."

"The Congressional Sportsmen's Caucus has a long history of putting policy over partisan politics in order to protect this country's heritage of hunting, fishing, and enjoying the great outdoors," said Miller. "It was an honor to serve as the Republican team captain for this year's Congressional Sportsman's Caucus Annual Shoot-Out. Yesterday's event was a great opportunity to promote and advance the values, traditions, and rights sportsmen across the country enjoy."

Rep. Mike Thompson was the Top Gun Member of Congress. The top Democratic shooter was Rep. Peterson and the top Republican shooter was Rep. Kline. The top Skeet shooter was Rep. Duncan, while Rep. Scott won the Trap competition and Rep. Bennie Thompson won the Sporting Clays competition. Rep. Ellmers won the beginner competition.

In the competition among members of the sportsmen's community in attendance at the Congressional Shoot, Curt Mauldin of Remington won the Top Gun competition. Colin Chapman of Chapman Capitol Consulting was top Skeet shooter, Mark Kenney of Oracle won top Trap shooter, Charlie Conger of Remington won the Sporting Clays competition and Sheila Goffe of the American Kennel Club was the top beginner.

On Monday, CSF also hosted the annual Industry Challenge at Prince George's County, which coincides every year with the Congressional Shoot-Out. The First Place Team was Team Remington, made up of Tom Ruck, Curt Mauldin, and Charlie Conger. Second place was Team ATK, made up of Jason Vanderbrink, Steve Rodgers, and Ryan Bronson. Third place went to Team Outdoor Channel, which included CSF Board Member Tom Hornish, Scott Robertson, and David Bolls. Scott Robertson defended his crown as industry Top Gun and Curt Mauldin was top Skeet shooter, Jason Vanderbrink won to Trap and Tom Ruck was top Sporting Clays shooter.