Friday, January 8, 2021

Indiana: Moss is District 6 Conservation Officer of the Year

Moss is District 6 Conservation Officer of the Year (Bartholomew County)

Indiana Conservation Officer Dave Moss has been selected as the 2020 District 6 Indiana Conservation Officer of the Year.

Moss is assigned Bartholomew County and has served as a conservation officer since 2009.

He serves as an emergency vehicle operator (EVO) instructor, CPR instructor, field training officer, sonar operator and public relations officer.

District 6 covers Hendricks, Morgan, Monroe, Brown, Bartholomew, Shelby, Hancock, Marion and Johnson counties.

The district award puts Moss in the running for the Pitzer Award, which is given to the top overall conservation officer in Indiana and selected from the 10 district award winners.

The Pitzer award is named after Indiana Conservation Officer James D. Pitzer, who was fatally shot while investigating illegal hunting activity on Jan. 2, 1961 in Jay County.


Media contact: Lt. Angela Goldman, DNR Law Enforcement, 812-320-9839