Monday, September 18, 2023

AZG&F Commission Announces Recipients of Commission Awards

The Arizona Game and Fish Commission announced 16 recipients of the 2023 Commission Awards at its Sept. 8 meeting in Greer, Ariz. The awards recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state’s wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

This year's recipients are:

  • Award of Excellence – Sheriff David Rhodes, Yavapai County and Sheriff Jim Driscoll, Coconino County
  • Youth Conservationist of the Year – Charles Smalley
  • Media of the Year – Henry Brean
  • Conservation Organization of the Year – White Mountain Apache Tribe
  • Conservationist of the Year – Troy Christensen
  • Natural Resource Professional of the Year – Mike Hannemann
  • Volunteer of the Year – Jim Lawrence
  • Educator of the Year – Fred Cohill
  • Mentor of the Year – Kevin Rapkoch
  • Advocate of the Year (State) – Senator Sine Kerr
  • Advocate of the Year (Federal) – Senator Kyrsten Sinema
  • Business Partner of the Year – OneAZ Credit Union
  • Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year – Ken Ford
  • Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year – Josiah Austin
  • North American Model Commissioner's Award – Micah White

The awards will be presented at the Commission’s Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, Jan. 20, 2024, at the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, Highland Plaza, 11111 N. 7th Street in Phoenix.

The first Commission Awards event was held in January 1991. Since then, nearly 400 recipients have been recognized for their dedicated work toward securing Arizona’s wildlife for generations to come.