SUBSCRIPTION    SUBMIT RELEASES    ADVERTISE    ARCHIVES    CONTACT                                 
Friday, August 11, 2017
39 Land Trusts Achieve National Recognition
Saratoga Springs, New York – The Land Trust Accreditation Commission, a program promoting the highest national standards for ensuring permanence in the conservation of American lands, announced today 39 land trusts have completed the rigorous process to achieve first-time or renewed accreditation.

"More land trusts than ever now hold this national mark of distinction," said Tammara Van Ryn, executive director of the Commission. "The accreditation network has grown to include an unprecedented 389 land trusts that are helping communities across the nation save important places forever."

The accreditation seal awarded by the Commission indicates these groups demonstrate sound finances, ethical conduct, responsible governance and lasting stewardship of the lands they protect. The Commission is an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, a national land conservation organization working to save the places people need and love by strengthening land conservation across America. The Commission is governed by a board of conservation practitioners who ensure each accredited organization meets extensive documentation requirements.

"When more land trusts achieve and maintain accreditation, benefits flow to us all," said Andrew Bowman, the Alliance's president. "From the Great Land Trust in Alaska to the Conservation Trust of Puerto Rico, our community is demonstrating a growing commitment to making our work rigorous, resilient and relevant. I applaud every land trust today that's celebrating the good news of first-time or renewed accreditation."

Accredited land trusts must renew every five years, confirming their compliance with national quality standards and providing continued assurance to donors and landowners of their commitment to forever care for their land and easements. Accredited land trusts now steward nearly 20 million acres of conserved land, an area exceeding the equivalent of 15 Grand Canyon National Parks.

Land trusts achieving first-time accreditation are Ashburnham Conservation Trust (Massachusetts), East Cooper Land Trust (South Carolina), Fronterra Land Alliance (Texas), Great Swamp Watershed Association (New Jersey), Hollow Oak Land Trust (Pennsylvania), Houston Audubon Society (Texas), Lakes Region Conservation Trust (New Hampshire), Loon Echo Land Trust (Maine), Mojave Desert Land Trust (California), Northeast Wisconsin Land Trust (Wisconsin), Piscataquog Land Conservancy (New Hampshire), Salisbury Association (Connecticut), Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority (California), Tampa Bay Conservancy (Florida), Transition Habitat Conservancy (California), The Trust for Public Land (California), and Woodstock Land Conservancy (New York).

Land trusts achieving renewed accreditation are Bayfield Regional Conservancy (Wisconsin), Caledonia Conservancy (Wisconsin), ClearWater Conservancy (Pennsylvania), Congaree Land Trust (South Carolina), Conservation Trust for Florida (Florida), Conservation Trust of Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico), D&R Greenway Land Trust (New Jersey), Great Land Trust (Alaska), Jo Daviess Conservation Foundation (Illinois), Mississippi Valley Conservancy (Wisconsin), North Carolina Coastal Land Trust (North Carolina), North Olympic Land Trust (Washington state), Pee Dee Land Trust (South Carolina), Prickly Pear Land Trust (Montana), San Juan Preservation Trust (Washington state), Taos Land Trust (New Mexico), The Wetlands Conservancy (Oregon), Upper Valley Land Trust (New Hampshire), Vinalhaven Land Trust (Maine), Western Pennsylvania Conservancy (Pennsylvania), Whidbey Camano Land Trust (Washington state), and Wyoming Stock Growers Land Trust (Wyoming).

About the Land Trust Accreditation Commission

The Land Trust Accreditation Commission, based in Saratoga Springs, New York, inspires excellence, promotes public trust and ensures permanence in the conservation of open lands by recognizing land trust organizations that meet rigorous quality standards and that strive for continuous improvement. The Commission, established in 2006 as an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, is governed by a volunteer board of diverse land conservation and nonprofit management experts from around the country. More information about the Commission and the full list of accredited land trusts is available at

About the Land Trust Alliance

Founded in 1982, the Land Trust Alliance is a national land conservation organization that works to save the places people need and love by strengthening land conservation across America. The Alliance represents 1,000 member land trusts supported by more than 200,000 volunteers and 4.6 million members nationwide. The Alliance is based in Washington, D.C., and operates several regional offices. More information about the Alliance is available at

Land Trust Accreditation Commission contact:
Tammara Van Ryn | 518-587-3143 |

Land Trust Alliance contact:
Joshua Lynsen | 202-800-2239 |

© Copyright 2018 The Outdoor Wire Digital Network. All Rights Reserved.